

AUSTRALIAN GREYHOUND RAGING ASSOCIATION

MEDIA RELEASE 27th July 2014



Red Letter Day for training duo Britton and Langton

Anakie trainers snare two Group finals at The Meadows

Anakie duo Jeff Britton and Angela Langton enjoyed one of their greatest nights as trainers at The Meadows after taking out the Group 1 Hudson Pacific Maturity Classic with Mepunga Hayley (\$4.10) and the Group 2 AWM Distance Championship with Mepunga Tiara (\$8.70). The pair – along with owner Barry Smith - took home a combined first prize of \$140,000 for both Group finals, and added icing on the cake by winning with other track stars Cosmic Wise and Mepunga Fearon on a night of dominance and an extension on what has been a fantastic 2014.



Mepunga Hayley races away with the Maturity Final (Pic Clint Anderson)

Mepunga Tiara upstaged her more fancied rivals - including champion chaser Xylia Allen – to take out the Group 2 AWM Distance Championship over 725 metres in impressive fashion. The black chaser jumped into second position and eventually overpowered early leader Lethal Three to score in 42.66, defeating the fast finishing Dyna Willow (\$9), with Zipping Rory (\$24.20) winding up in third.

AUSTRALIAN BREYHDUND RABINB ASSUBIATION

After some close calls in Group finals, the daughter of Premier Fantasy and Mepunga Opal broke her Group winning duck, pushing her prizemoney past \$110,000 in the process.

Two races later, Mepunga Hayley showed why she is rated as one of the best young sprinters in the land, striding to a magnificent 29.79 victory in the Group 1 Hudson Pacific Maturity Classic over 525 metres.

The daughter of Bekim Bale and Mepunga Harmony defeated NSW chaser Shoulders (\$4.10) by over three lengths, while Humphrey Bale (\$20.80) ran third. The win was Mepunga Hayley's 10th from just 20 starts, extending her prizemoney to over \$155,000.



Mepunga Tiara wins her first Group final at the Meadows (Pics Clint Anderson)

Jeff Britton was full of praise for his team of star chasers.

"It's not me, it's the dogs (who deserve credit), and the man who bred them (Barry Smith). (Partner) Angela (Langton) and I have a great team of workers at home, and we are fortunate that we are able to train for Barry, who is a wonderful breeder and rearer of greyhounds."

After the placed runners in the Maturity the field finished in the following order 4th Take Charge (\$18.90), 5th Sisco Rage (\$6.60), 6th Lamia Bale (\$13.80) 7th Hooksy (\$3.10) and Grand Legacy (\$21).

Mepunga Hayley is a Black bitch whelped June 2012 by Bekim Bale from Mepunga Harmony (Pure Octane x Mepunga Shiraz). She was bred and is raced by Barry Smith and trained by Jeff Britton at Anakie in Victoria. She made it 10 wins and two placings after the Maturity final. The Maturity Classic first prize of \$100,000 brings Mepunga Hayley's overall prizemoney to \$155,090.

The Maturity Classic was first held at Olympic Park in 1970 when won by talented sprinter Phantom's Heir first prize at that time was \$1250. The prizemoney increased marginally until 1975 when it went to \$3,500. In 77 it was \$5,600 and jumped to \$7000 in 79 before going to \$10,000 from 1980 until 1987 the year the mighty New Tears won the race. First prize went to \$15,000 for seven years then to \$20,000 for two years and reached \$30,000 in the year 2000. In 2001 it was worth \$40,000 and the Classic was won by AGRA Hall Of Famer Brett Lee. It was elevated the next year to \$50,000 then again last year the final went up to \$75,000 and then in year 2012 an increase to \$100,000. Listed below is the Maturity Classic Honour roll highlighted by some of the many stars that enjoyed outstanding careers after winning the feature.

AUSTRALIAN BREYHUUND RABINB ASSUBIATION

1970 Phantom's Heir, 1971 Linden Lad, 1972 Nulla's Call, 1973 Shan's Tempest, 1974 Temlee, 1975 Warranwood Girl, 1976 Aaron King, 1977 Overflow Love, 1978 Satan's Legend, 1979 Marajax, 1980 Worthy Weston, 1981 Murchison Champ, 1982 Rocky Pyramid, 1982 Wynlee Spirit, 1983 "Not Held" 1984 Broken Cup, 1985 Storm Glade, 1986 Pharaoh's Mask, 1987 New Tears, 1988 Hay Dinney, 1989 Best Of Blue, 1990 Eureka Man, 1991 Enfield, 1992 Executive Class, 1993 Keystone, 1994 Refur, 1995 Northern Legend, 1996 Royal Honcho, 1997 Running Gold, 1998 Adrenalin Storm, 1999 Coriole, 2000 Acacia Dee, 2001 Brett Lee, 2002 Rocka Cockatoo, 2003 Hall's Northern, 2004 Hallucinate, 2005 Poetic Magic 2006 Train A Journey, 2007 Run's House, 2008 Paddy's Flame, 2009 Aston Trivett, 2010 El Grand Senor, 2011 Shereen Bale, 2012 Barcia Bale and 2013 Marcus Joe.



What a night Angela Langton with both Group winners (Pic Clint Anderson)

After the placed runners in the AWM Distance Championship the field finished in the following order 4th Xylia Allen (\$1.30), 5th Lethal Three (\$21.20), 6th Zipping Joe (\$11.40) 7th Arejay Smokey (\$47.60) and Zipping Maggie (\$33.50).

Mepunga Tiara is a Black bitch whelped December 2011 by Premier Fantasy from Mepunga Opal (Hallucinate x Mepunga Spark). She was bred and is raced by Barry Smith and trained by Jeff Britton at Anakie in Victoria. She made it nine wins and 15 placings after the AWM Distance final. The AWM Distance first prize of \$40,000 brings Mepunga Tiara's overall prizemoney to \$110,940.

Elevated to Group 2 status in 2007 the race then dropped back to Group 3 in 2011 and 2012 but has been elevated back to Group 2 this year. The AWM Distance Championship has had plenty of different names. First run in 1967 when won by Magic Zephyr the race was staged over the 800 yard at Olympic Park and was known as the Olympic Park Distance Championship. In those early years the raced was won by some outstanding stayers including AGRA Hall of famers Zoom Top (1969) Lizrene (1972). It remained the Olympic Park Distance Champion ship until 1988 apart from 1978 when called the Victorian Distance Title and in 1986 it was called the Toyota Trophy and 1987 Toyota Cup. In 1989 the race was called the Olympic Park Distance Title before becoming the Diamond Distance Title from 1990 to 1993 and the ANZ Distance Title 1994-95. The race first became the AWM Distance Title in 1996 when the M.G.R.A. was racing at Sandown and the company has continued the race sponsorship through to the Meadows. Listed below are the previous winners.

1967 Magic Zephyr, 1968 Carbon Lass, 1969 Zoom Top, 1970 Trev's Button, 1971 Paul's Thunder, 1972 Lizrene,1973 Thurmiss,1974 Alveray,1975 La Sierra, 1976 Chevron Lass, 1977 Oakwood Moss, 1978 Lindsay's Pick, 1979 Mixed Blessings,1980-1984 Not Run, Sheila's Teresa 1985, Suzanne Gwenda, 1986 Linton's Ace, 1987 Golden Ambition, 1988 Strolling Benja, 1989 Julep, 1990 Malmar Magic, 1991 Witchery, 1992 Modern Express, 1993 Brijon Belle, 1994 Athjoy, 1995 Johnny Glenoban,1996 Happy Reuben, 1997 Ringside Fire, 1999 Long Shadow, 2000 Jedi Lightsabre, 2001 Hotshow Vintage, 2002 Westend Prince, 2003 Arvo's Junior, 2004 Classy Customer, 2005 Zarbo and 2006 Mid City Mandy, 2007 Sky Hazzard, 2008 Sky Hazzard, 2009 Amity Bale, 2010 Blue Lorian, 2011 Shimaguni, 2012 He Knows Uno and 2013 Destini Fireball.

Thanks for information supplied by George Farrugia M.G.R.A Publicity Officer

For more information please contact:

Neil Brown AGRA Publicity Officer Tel: 03 97691234 Mob: 0423 129 950

nbrown@agra.com.au

Howard Ashton AGRA Executive Officer Tel: 08 8243 7100 Mob: 0438 042 838